Some common Maven Phases and their work - Maven Tutorial

Maven contains three major build life cycles:

1. clean2. default3. site

Although hardly a comprehensive list, these are the most common default lifecycle phases executed.

validate: validate the project is correct and all necessary information is available

compile: compile the source code of the project

test: test the compiled source code using a suitable unit testing framework. These tests should not require the code be packaged or deployed

package: take the compiled code and package it in its distributable format, such as a JAR.

integration-test: process and deploy the package if necessary into an environment where integration tests can be run

verify: run any checks to verify the package is valid and meets quality criteria

install: install the package into the local repository, for use as a dependency in other projects locally

deploy: done in an integration or release environment, copies the final package to the remote repository for sharing with other developers and projects.

There are two other Maven lifecycles of note beyond the default list above. They are

clean: cleans up artifacts created by prior builds

site: generates site documentation for this project

Generating the Site

mvn site

This phase generates a site based upon information on the project’s pom. You can look at the documentation generated under target/site.